From humble beginnings, the Southport Australian Rules Football Club grew.

The following is an in-depth look at the Southport’s history from 1961 through to 1982. This was an exciting time for the club marked by a multitude of successes both on and off the field. Follow the historical account as it tells a tale of a small local football team that quickly grew in leaps and bounds.


1000 Spectators attended the first game of Australian Football on the Gold Coast between Southport and Centrals. Southport defeated Ipswich to win their first... (Read More)


Southport organised matches against Brisbane clubs to continue the rapid development of the code. Junior and school football were launched. (Read More)


After a promising start the club struggled through the later part of the season and came close to folding over the summer. (Read More)


Southport revitalised and Owen Park was secured for Australian Football and the Magpies. Coach Harold Peacock led a remarkable recovery to a premiership. (Read More)


In spite of a 13 game winning streak the Magpies failed to make a controversial GCAFL Grand Final attended by 4000 fans. (Read More)


An undefeated premiership underlined a year of absolute dominance. Southport’s Terry Doyle was the first GCAFL player to kick 100 goals in a season. (Read More)


Key player departures rocked the Magpies. 20-year-old senior coach Ken Best took the club to a Grand Final loss to Surfers Paradise. (Read More)


Collingwood recruits Ken Best. Owen Park hosts the first GCAFL night match. (Read More)


Bob Burke kicked 24 goals in a home and away match. The Magpies went down to Surfers Paradise. (Read More)


Labrador took out their first premiership as Southport misses the finals for the first time. (Read More)


Burns plays 100 as Southport rebuild to finish runners up to Palm Beach-Currumbin. (Read More)


Ian Rapkins achieved his second Magpies Best and Fairest. The Pacific Hotel became Southport AFC’s first true home. (Read More)


More premiership heartbreak as Palm Beach - Currumbin repeat their 1971 success. (Read More)


Alan Mackenzie and Wally Fankhauser take the reins. Magpies miss the finals for their second and last time. (Read More)


Southport dominates the season. Bill Ryan, Zane Taylor and Lindsay Fawns head an unrivalled recruiting coup. (Read More)


The dominance of 1975 was repeated and complimented with reserves (undefeated) and colt’s premierships. A second club championship in a row indicated the Magpies... (Read More)


Three premierships in a row for the seniors and reserves as the Magpies machine rolls on. (Read More)


Zane Taylor lays claim to the title of best footballer in Queensland as the Magpies just fail to take their fourth premiership in succession. (Read More)


The new Owen Park clubhouse is opened and the more premierships flow on the field. (Read More)


Five out of six as the Magpies still reign. (Read More)


Coolangatta too good as the Magpies attention turns to the QAFL. (Read More)


Dare arrives as the Blues deny the Magpies a fairytale departure from the GCAFL. (Read More)